Using Time-Lapse Videos to Promote Your Art

This piece is titled “Pink Orchids”, it was inspired from a potted orchid plant in my house.  The original is on a 6″ x 8″ canvas and painted in oils.  My favorite medium to work in has always been oils, I just love how much time and freedom you have in using them.  There is a lot of fluidity, flexibility with this medium.

When I painted this piece I video taped the entire process and then with my video editing software I created a time-lapse video.  I think the original video footage was about 3 hours and it shrunk down to under a 4 minute video.  I use iMovie on my iMac, its so simple and easy to use.  They have a feature when you import video footage you can decide the speed of how it will play.  You can slow it down or speed it up. I just speed it up as high as it will let me, then add some royalty free music, upload to YouTube and then share it on the web with others!  Below is the video if you’d like to check it out.

If you’re an artist and want to increase the eyes that see your art I highly suggest you begin making videos with your art.  I started doing this a few years ago and its really helped increase my audience.  There was one book that really helped me understand the possibilities with YouTube and its called YouTube: An Insider’s Guide to Climbing the Charts.  (Also available in Kindle format by clicking here – YouTube: An Insider’s Guide to Climbing the Charts: An Insider’s Guide to Climbing the Charts) This book taught me the importance of editing, sound quality, lighting – even how to network among the other YouTubers in the YT community.  I also learned how I could make some extra cash on my videos with something called the ‘YouTube Partners Program’.

If you enjoyed my video posted up above and would like to see others I’ve made you can find my YT channel at http://www.YouTube.com/GBHArtists  and if you’re on YouTube please subscribe to my channel and send me a friend request so I can do the same for you!  And feel free to send me a PM there and let me know what you think.  Oh and also, if you have a video there – leave the URL in a comment below so I can check it out.

I’ve been discovering many different ways to network and market my art out into the world through the web for years now.  This is just one of many ideas I share in my book, “Thinking Outside the Frame: How Artists Make Actual Money in the Virtual World”.  If you’re interested its available in paperback wherever books are sold (and you can just CLICK HERE for Paperback on Amazon.com or if you prefer the digital version its available on KINDLE and also on Nook eReaders)

About gaylespaintings

I am an Artist and Author of "Thinking Outside the Frame: How Artists Make Actual Money in the Virtual World"
This entry was posted in Plants/Flowers, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Using Time-Lapse Videos to Promote Your Art

  1. Hello! Thanks for stopping by my blog today! I REALLY like the time lapse video. So rare, for me anyway, to get to observe a painter’s process and highly entertaining!

Leave a Reply

