Back in the Studio with Buddha

I’ve been back in the studio painting again and it feels really good.  I’ve been a bit of a painting machine actually…  I have about 5 different canvases I’m currently working on and I just completed two new Buddha paintings that I am happy to share with you here.

The first piece is titled, “Rising Into Enlightenment”, it is painted in oils on a 2′ x 2′ canvas.  The color palette used in this piece is of gold, brown, purple and white.  The gold color is raw sienna, one of my favorite colors to work with.  It takes on so many different looks throughout the painting because there are many layers of paint on the canvas.  I used several different paint techniques to achieve this look – sea sponges, splattering, dripping with paint thinner and paint, dry brush dragging, stippling, and detailed brush work.  On the left of the canvas is a thick brush stroked Buddha looking down in meditation and on the right are two symbols of Om and a lotus flower.

"Rising Into Enlightenment" - Original painting by Gayle Utter

“Rising Into Enlightenment” – Original painting by Gayle Utter

The Om is a mystic syllable, considered the most sacred mantra and is of Hindu origin. It appears at the beginning and end of most Sanskrit recitations, prayers, and texts.

The lotus flower represents a symbol of fortune in Buddhism. It grows in muddy water, and it is this environment that gives forth the flower’s purpose: rising and blooming above the murk to achieve enlightenment.  I just love that – rising and blooming above the murk to achieve enlightenment.  That was the inspiration for the title of the painting.

“Rising Into Enlightenment” is available for purchase at GaylesPaintings.com and prints of this painting are available in many different sizes with affordable prices at FineArtAmerica.com

The second painting is titled, “Within the Depths of Silence”, it is painted in oils on a 12″ x 24″ canvas.  I used my favorite shades of blue, aqua and green for the color palette of this Buddha. I used all kinds of tricks to achieve the look of this painting – dry brush dragging, sea sponges, splattering, stippling and detailed brush work.  I am very pleased with how he turned out, in fact I really love this painting.  I was sad to see him go when I sold him, but now he has a new home to bring loving energy into and that makes me feel good.

"Within the Depths of Silence" - Original painting by Gayle Utter

“Within the Depths of Silence” – Original painting by Gayle Utter

Although this beautiful Buddha is sold, I do have prints available in many different sizes with affordable prices at FineArtAmerica.com

I’m really enjoying the new style I am creating with my Buddha paintings, its very fluid, and I paint mostly from my imagination and through my connection to Source Energy. Often it feels like Buddha and I are hanging out in my studio making art.  He’s the model in my mind’s life drawing class whom I paint as I sit at my easel.  We share hours of conversation through silence, and the peace and wisdom that comes from those moments is priceless to me.  The artwork that manifests through all of it is my greatest honor.

Thank you for taking the time to read my post and view my latest paintings.  If you have any questions about how you can own your own Buddha painting please contact me at GaylesPaintings.com

Namaste

Gayle

About gaylespaintings

I am an Artist and Author of "Thinking Outside the Frame: How Artists Make Actual Money in the Virtual World"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back in the Studio with Buddha

  1. Gede Prama says:

    Well written. May peace be with you 🙂

  2. Kabamba says:

    Gayle,
    I have loved the way you look at your art. If only I can start looking at my time in the home music studio the way you do, I know I would move to the next level of my art. Thank you very much.

Leave a Reply

